inClass: Everything You Should Need

Over the last few weeks, we’ve discussed two apps from the iTunes App Store. iStudiez Pro, which is a personal information manager designed for students, and Classes, which, well, I don’t really know what it is. Today we’re looking at inClass, which is actually quite different from the others.

The thing that sets this app apart is its ability to record your notes during class. Now, everyone knows how important it is to take notes, but not everyone does it. We’ll be going into this later, but for now, let’s stick with that it’s important. Unfortunately, that also appears to be the viewpoint of the inClass developers.

When I first encountered this app, I was really excited. It appeared to do everything I needed it to. It has alarms for classes, and reminders to complete tasks. It also has the ability to take video, audio, and photo notes. Combined with a great old-style-school look, including manila folders, graph paper, notepaper and a handwritten font, inClass looked like the perfect school companion.

Unfortunately, when trying to fill in my timetable, I found many areas lacking, the most important of which made it nearly impossible to use the application. Like most other school applications, inClass has a sort of planner, where you add your terms, subjects and classes. This can be found under ‘Terms’. From this you can add a new term, then a few courses. For each course, you can put your class information in. This is where the problems lie. There is only the ability to add two classes per course.

I don’t know about you, but I certainly have more than two classes per week for each subject. In fact, working on the A/B Week schedule, I have up to 8 classes per cycle. There is also no support for alternating schedules. These two missing features render the application useless for knowing which classes are coming up.

Of course, you could simply add your courses, and use it only for taking notes, but unless you are at a very understanding school, I can’t see many teachers allowing you to pull your iDevice out in class. Alternatively, you could write them out by hand and take a photo later. It would also be convenient to add notes at a later date, using some sort of online synchronisation, as you could take notes using a laptop. However, as of writing there is no way to do this.

On the other hand, there are two ways to get your data out of your device, iTunes File Sharing, and through email. I’m not quite sure how the File Sharing works, but I’ve found it rather awkward to use for other apps. When I tried, with .mp3 and .wmv files, nothing happened. If you’ve successfully used File Sharing with inClass, let me know in the comments. The email options allows you to send either a back-up of all your data, or individual notes to yourself, or someone else. You can also send attachments of individual notes. If you are using this, or any other app with this feature, I strongly encourage you to back up frequently. Just a note though, your back-up of all data won’t save any media notes.

Over the last two weeks, we’ve discussed timetable apps. This is hardly comes under this category, but is nevertheless a useful application, if your situation allows. I recommend you take a look at what you need, and determine if it is useful. If you’re not sure, you can always download it anyway, as it’s free.

Price: Free!
Score: 

Tags: , , , , ,

About Katie Walker

Hey, I'm a student. I'm into web development, so currently I'm working on my blog, a few Tumblr themes, and a few web apps for various purposes. It's exciting stuff.

2 responses to “inClass: Everything You Should Need”

  1. josh says :

    Do you prefer Istudiez Pro or InClass?

    • Katie Walker says :

      Since I wrote this two years ago (whoa!), iStudiez Pro is has remained installed, but inClass hasn’t. Having said that, I currently use Google Calendar for my timetable and a moleskine weekly diary for meetings and due dates. If I was only running iOS, I would stick with iStudiez, but as it happens, I have an Android tablet and an Windows 7.8 Phone on top of my iPod Touch, so I needed something that would sync well. I also needed something more flexible as my commitments varied and timetable became more chaotic.

Leave a Reply

