Punctuality

BASIX: This section is designed for the study newbie. Sure, you’ve been at school for years, but that doesn’t mean you’ve been doing it properly. Get up to scratch here.


Last week, we discussed attending school. This week, we’ll extend on this topic, and talk about getting to school on time. The reasons for not doing this are probably the same as those for not turning up, so to get yourself up to speed, you might want to check out that post.

The time you miss class, whether it’s five minutes, half an hour, or 5 lessons (yes, I have known people to turn up to school after lunch) can have some serious side-effects. For starters, you will miss out on important content. You will also interrupt the teacher, and you can bet they won’t be happy about it. Both of these could lead to your grade being lowered. On top of this, your school or teacher may hand out detentions or other punishments to students who are continually late.

There is also the perception of others that comes with being late to school on numerous occasions. After a while, you will start to develop a persona as the guy who’s never on time.”Hey, where’s Mark?” “Late.” “Big surprise.” You don’t want that hanging over your head. On top of that, you’ve got all the thoughts that people don’t voice, but you just know that everyone else is thinking. She’s never going to do well. He’s really disorganized, I don’t want to work with him. She just doesn’t care about school.

So you want to improve? First of all, you have to determine why it is you aren’t turning up on time. We’ll talk about disorganization, not being able to wake up on time, and public transport problems.

It would be a fair bet to say that most student’s middle name is disorganized, I’ve probably said it before. Fortunately, there are many methods to help them through this. The night before school, pack your bag, set out your clothes, and set your alarm. There, now you have three less excuses for being late. You could also try showering at night. I can wake up a half hour later, because I shower before I go to bed. It also saves the morning bathroom battle. When you wake up, don’t hit the snooze button. Instead, get up. This tip works wonders. Also, make sure you eat breakfast, although not a time saver, it is really important. You could also try a schedule. This doesn’t have to be to the second, just a rough estimate. For example

  • 6:30-7:00 Eat breakfast (Yes, I am a slow eater)
  • 7:00-7:05 Get dressed
  • 7:05-7:20 Other getting ready stuff
  • 7:20-7:24 sync stuff on the cloud to mobile device, check timetable
  • 7:24 leave the house (this may seem ‘to the minute’, but it’s because of the bus)

That’s my routine, and it suits me well.

Students are notoriously night-owls. Unfortunately, most school schedules don’t recognize this. If you have trouble waking up in the morning, try getting someone else to get you up. And I mean get you up, like pull you out of bed. Or you could just get more sleep. Hate to tell you, but 3 hours isn’t normally enough. Try getting 8-10 hours. You might want to try something like this app, if you can. It tries to wake you up in your lightest sleep pattern, as this is when it is easiest to get up. However, if nothing is working, you might have a sleeping disorder, in which case, you should see your doctor.

Okay, you’re up on time, you’re all ready, but you get [insert public transport problems] [insert public transport]. From late buses, full trains, early trams, and evil drivers who leave just as you get to the stop, taking public transport is nightmare. If you’re constantly taking a late bus. For simplicity, bus will be used instead of bus/train/tram , try taking an earlier bus, or talking to the transport department in your area (the same for early buses). If you keep missing the bus, try to figure out how long it takes to get to your stop, and leave at the same time every morning. For example, I know that it take me 10 minutes to drive to my stop, so if I leave at 7:24, I will be there by 7:34. I also know that it takes me 2 minutes to walk from the drop-off zone to my actual stop, and that the clock in my car is 1 minute faster than the one at my stop. That means, all going to plan, I should be on the bus by 7:37, one minute before my bus leaves. Finally, if your bus just doesn’t get you there on time, take an earlier bus. As you can see above, my bus leaves at 7:38, which gets me to school around 8:00. But school doesn’t start till 8:45. Why? Because any later, and the bus starts getting unreliable, plus all the freaks come out.

Now, you’re going to be on time for class, aren’t you? Awesome. As usual, let me know your thoughts.

Katie

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Katie Walker

Hey, I'm a student. I'm into web development, so currently I'm working on my blog, a few Tumblr themes, and a few web apps for various purposes. It's exciting stuff.

Leave a Reply

